Low Carb Jabberwockey

The most delicious recipes in all of Wonderland

EMEALS review: Ham and Cheese Quiche with Sweet Peas December 1, 2012

Filed under: Dinner,EMEALS reviews,Lunch — Low Carb Jabberwockey @ 7:13 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

hamandcheesequiche1

.

EMEALS review:  Ham and Cheese Quiche with Sweet Peas

This was very tasty, prep time minimal, cooking time about 30 min.

I find that the low carb recipes on emeals are not as low carb as I usually eat.  For example, I rarely serve peas since they are “high carb” in comparison to other veggies.  But honestly, peas are better than bread in the grand scheme of things.

The recipe called for butter, 1/2 an onion (I used the entire thing), garlic, eggs, half and half, swiss cheese, and diced ham (I used turkey ham).

I sauteed the onion and garlic in the butter and transferred to the cooking dish, then layered in the turkey ham, cheese, and finally topped with the egg/half and half mixture.  I added cracked black pepper on the top and popped into the oven for 30 minutes.

For the side, the recipe just called for steamed sweet peas, but I had a little leftover corn and pesto, so threw that in just to get rid of it.

My kiddo and I both loved this dish, however, hubby has never been a fan of anything resembling quiche, and although he said it tasted good, he didn’t particularly care for it. The leftovers heated very well and tasted great on day 2 for lunch.

.
hamandcheesequiche3

hamandcheesequiche2

 

2 Responses to “EMEALS review: Ham and Cheese Quiche with Sweet Peas”

  1. tmvikholt Says:

    Yum! I need to try this.


Leave a Reply

