Low Carb Jabberwockey

The most delicious recipes in all of Wonderland

Emeals Review: Baked Cabbage Rolls with Mashed Cauliflower December 8, 2012

Filed under: Dinner,EMEALS reviews,Side Dishes — Low Carb Jabberwockey @ 11:38 pm
Tags: , , , ,

bakedcabbagerolls

Baked Cabbage Rolls with Mashed Cauliflower

This dish was downright tasty, although the prep time was a little more than what I prefer for a weeknight meal.

Filling consisted of ground beef, onion, egg, tomato paste, Worcestershire, and lemon juice.  The labor intensive part was steaming the 12 cabbage leaves and rolling up the beef in the leaves.  You may recall that I work from home so was able to prep this on my lunch hour and pop it back into the fridge to cook later.  Since the rolls take an hour to cook, I would not recommend the dish for an after work prep/bake.

To cook, I added 1 cup of water on the bottom, and a can of tomato sauce over the top.  I embellished a little and topped with a little bit of grated Parmesan cheese and dried basil, covered with foil and baked for an hour.

The side dish was nice and easy….the recipe called for frozen cauliflower (which I don’t usually buy,  but was very convenient) and butter.  I had about an ounce of cream cheese, so went ahead and threw that in since I thought it would make it a little creamier.

I generally am not a fan of cauliflower mash because I have not been able to get the proper texture, but my Mom-In-Law sent us a Vita mixer for Christmas this year and WOW, the texture of the mash turned out PERFECT.  Looks like I will be making this side dish more often !

Rating for this dish is THUMBS UP, even though the dish was a little more labor intensive to prep than I prefer.

 

5 Responses to “Emeals Review: Baked Cabbage Rolls with Mashed Cauliflower”

  1. My grandmother was born in Russia and grew up in the Ukraine before immigrating to Canada. So basically, I lived off cabbage rolls growing up. It’s a classic! Thumbs up indeed.

  2. afracooking Says:

    I havent had cabbage rolls since my childhood – I must make them sometime. And I am so glad you rediscovered cauli mash. I adore it!! Try throwing in some chopped spring onion and use fat free greek yogurt. Yum!

  3. […] was delicious, and was a quick and easy prep, since I had a little leftover meat from my EMEALS cabbage roll escapades.   Recall that the cabbage rolls got a “thumbs up” from both me and the […]


Leave a Reply

