Low Carb Jabberwockey

The most delicious recipes in all of Wonderland

Roasted Garlic December 27, 2012

Filed under: Condiments — Low Carb Jabberwockey @ 8:52 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

garlic3

.

We have an abundance of hardneck Garlic left from the summer garden, but I have noticed some of them are starting to dry out and get old. Hardnecks don’t typically keep as well, but grow much better here in the rainy Pacific Northwest.

.

I decided I needed to “preserve” the garlic since I use it in nearly all of my cooking, but discovered in my internet research that one should not “can” garlic in oil due to its low acid content….there are many documented cases of botulism when an acidifying ingredient is not added.  (http://www.ext.colostate.edu/safefood/newsltr/v2n4s08.html)

.

However,  you can roast it, add a little oil to keep it pliable, and freeze safely.

.

I have roasted one or two heads of garlic at a time in foil in the past.  What I didn’t like was that when I cut the “top” of the garlic head off the individual cloves were more difficult to squeeze out after cooking since they were still attached to the rootball.  Also, I didn’t want to waste a bunch of aluminum foil wrapping up 20 or 30 heads of garlic.

.

My solution was to cut off the rootball of the garlics, place in a large glass pan, drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle on some Kosher salt and cracked black pepper, and seal the pan with one sheet of foil.  I then roasted at 350 F for one hour.

.

Let the garlics cool, and engage a helper to squeeze them into jars for freezing.  Drizzle with a wee bit of olive oil in each jar (not too much !).

garlic1

garlic2

garlic4

 

3 Responses to “Roasted Garlic”

  1. What a great idea. Heather

  2. […] brussel sprouts Olive oil 2 Tbsp roasted (or raw) garlic.  If raw, mince it. Kosher salt and Cracked […]


Leave a Reply

