Low Carb Jabberwockey

The most delicious recipes in all of Wonderland

EMeals Review: Crockpot Chicken Cordon Blue March 23, 2013

Filed under: EMEALS reviews — Low Carb Jabberwockey @ 5:01 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Crockpot Chicken Cordon BlueIngredients: Chicken breast, bacon (I used beef), ham (I used turkey), swiss cheese slices, chicken broth, white wine, cornstarch.

Embellishments:  None

Prep:  Involved!  Since I am a working mom, it’s crucial that prep is NOT involved.  This recipe required me to pound the chicken breast flat, roll it up with ham and cheese in the middle, and toothpick it closed.  Prep time was probably at least 15 minutes.  Definitely one that would need to be prepped the night before.

Cook Time:   Recipe called for 4 hours on high, although I did 9 hours on low since I was at work all day.

Comments: I have never been a fan of cooking chicken breast in a crockpot.  Drums and thighs, yes, breast, NO.  As expected the chicken breast was dry. Flavor was “ok”, but I just couldn’t enjoy it because of the dry texture of the breast.

Thumbs down !  Excessive prep time, dry meat.

 

Leave a Reply

