Low Carb Jabberwockey

The most delicious recipes in all of Wonderland

“Perfect Every Time” Chicken Gravy December 27, 2013

Perfect Gravy.

Gravy used to be such a mystery for me….sometimes it would turn out, sometimes it wouldn’t (yes – LUMPS).  There is one simple trick that I learned – equal parts fat to flour.  That’s IT.  Why did it take me years to figure that out ?

.

Our Christmas Dinner was as simple as it gets.  I prepped the veggies and chicken in advance (recipe here: https://locarbjabberwockey.wordpress.com/?s=christmas ) and just put the entire roasting pan in the fridge.  After all, we REALLY needed to see “The Desolation of Smaug” and wouldn’t be getting back home until about 5:30 pm.  The instant I walked in the door, I turned on the oven and popped the chicken/veggies in for about an hour and 15 minutes.

.

I removed the veggies and chicken and put the pan directly on the stove (medium heat).  Leave all those burnt bits in there – they help create a super  rich, dark gravy!  There was about 1 tablespoon of chicken fat in the pan, so I added 1 tablespoon of butter.

.

Perfect Gravy.

Since I had 2 tablespoons of fat, I added 2 tablespoons of flour, stirred it in, and let it cook for about two minutes.

.

Perfect Gravy.

Now it’s just a matter of adding in some chicken broth (today it was from a can).  Moderation is what’s important here… I first poured in half a can and stirred until combined.  It immediately thickened, and I gradually added another can of broth.  But remember !  Don’t pour with too heavy a hand – it’s always easier to add more than to re-thicken it !  Each time you add more liquid, allow it to cook for a minute or two to see if it will thicken any more.

.

Once the gravy is thickened, give it a taste.  I did not need to add ANY seasonings.  There was enough residual salt from the canned broth,butter and drippings and it was PERFECT.

.

“Perfect Every Time” Chicken Gravy

1 Tbsp Chicen drippings
1 Tbsp butter
2 Tbsp Flour
22 ounces (one and a half cans) chicken broth
Salt and pepper to taste

.

Melt butter with chicken drippings over medium heat.  Add flour, and stir for about 2 minutes.  Gradually add the broth until gravy thickens.  You may need less (or more!) broth depending on how thick you like the gravy.

Season to taste.

Perfect Gravy.

Perfect Gravy

 

10 Responses to ““Perfect Every Time” Chicken Gravy”

  1. dawnspitfire Says:

    we are ridiculous gravy lovers in my family! ! Love this. I’ve been making it for 40 years but telling someone else how is not my forte. I’m one of those nonmeasuring timing types. So I really appreciate you posting this!
    yay….I can just share this! !

  2. dawnspitfire Says:

    I’m so serious that I consider it a crime and a sin to throw away drippings!!!
    ROFLOL #true

  3. dawnspitfire Says:

    Reblogged this on dawn spitfire's blog and commented:
    LOVE GRAVY! ♥
    DON’T THROW AWAY THOSE DRIPPINGS! AKA #FLAVOR

  4. whatthemom Says:

    That really looks good. Wish I had it right now…it’s the daily “what’s for dinner?” Question looming…

  5. PigLove Says:

    That looks totally awesome my friend. AND it’s one of my favorites – chicken! I gotta show this to mommy so she can cook it. Thanks! XOXO – Bacon


Leave a Reply

